Best Sneakers for Over-Pronators

I’ve always had flat feet, but in my 30s it started causing me pain, and I’ve been seeking out shoes with more arch support. But it has been a tough journey to find the perfect supportive shoe, so I went to the Nordstrom anniversary sale to try out a few pairs to see if anything good is out there for me.

Just some background, flat feet is a condition where the arch that should be present in the middle of your foot is flattened, so the whole sole touches the ground. For some this doesn’t cause pain, but poor foot and ankle mechanics can affect the whole body and cause pain in others. Over-pronation specifically refers to the flattening of the arch while weight bearing on the foot during gait, or while walking or running. According to the Cleveland Clinic, overpronation that is uncorrected can lead to plantar fasciitis, back pain and more. Lucky me I have both conditions, so I really try to look good arch support in my sneakers. Of course, getting a custom orthotic is the most ideal choice if you are suffering from foot pain.

https://www.istockphoto.com/vector/foot-with-a-normal-arch-and-flat-feet-gm1360705604-433624959

Components of a supportive shoe for over-pronators/flat feet

  • Sole support
    • The sole of the shoe should be firm but also cushioned to support your foot.
  • Arch support
    • The middle of the shoe should be elevated to support your arch, since prontators or people with flat feet don’t have that intrinsic support.
  • Heel support
    • Here again, the heel needs support to be able to move in line with the rest of the foot. The shoe should support and hug the heel. Backless shoes are not ideal in providing that support.
  • Raised heel
    • Keeping the heel slightly elevated takes some pressure off the mid sole, as in sneakers with a thicker heel base.

Sneaker shopping at the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale

With all the foot pain I’d been having in general, but especially while exercising, I decided to try out some popular sneakers to see if they could be a good fit.

The first sneaker I tried on was the popular brand On Cloud. Online you can read thousands of rave reviews to their amazing comfort. The sneakers are very pretty and the sole was nice and cushioned with the cleat like design. But the arch support was not enough for me.

  • Sole support- good
  • Arch support- just ok
  • Heel support- ok
  • Raised heel- good

Next, I tried Asics, also very popular amongst over-pronators and flat footers on the internet. These shoes are amazingly cushioned and feel amazing on. I own these shoes and love them for walking and standing, but it’s not quite enough arch support for dancing or heavy exercise.

  • Sole support- very good
  • Arch support- good
  • Heel support- very good
  • Raised heel- very good

Next for fun, I tried on these pretty and stylish Nikes. Unfortunately, though I like the look of this brand, I haven’t found a pair that is supportive enough.

  • Sole support- ok
  • Arch support- none really
  • Heel support- good
  • Raised heel- ok

I ended up sticking with my Hoka Bondi 7s. These are great sneakers and the most supportive for my foot that I have found so far!

  • Sole support- good
  • Arch support- very good
  • Heel support- very good
  • Raised heel- good

Ps- even though I was sneaker shopping, I ended up walking out of there with these beauties. Thanks Nordstrom!

For more shopping and fashion posts click below:

https://wordpress.com/post/momlifeinleggings.wordpress.com/430

https://wordpress.com/post/momlifeinleggings.wordpress.com/307

Published by Abby Beer

Wife and Mom to four adorable kids. Pediatric Physical Therapist. Oh and I also love fashion. Coffee and Reese's Peanut Butter Cups keep me going.

Leave a comment